Day 2 – Finding the light within

Day 2 - Finding the light within

Woke up this morning with a painful mouth as my facial muscles are sagging in between my teeth and I bite my cheeks , it is so painful as my mouth is full of ulcers and wounds from biting. I was up and about early making bacon buttties for Joe and the decorator Lee. Cooking bacon is one of the hardest things,

This morning I spent time in the company with my friend Ken, autumn cleaning at the Buddhist Centre . While i was polishing the furniture I was thinking about how Russel emphasises that when you do a chores like cleaning , it is good to do it with care and concentration . So I tried this today and I relished how I was still able to clean and make a pleasant environment for others. This is a new role and we all need to roles in life my role isn’t a patient yet !!! My role has changed dramatically but I still feel like I am still useful . I felt I had accomplished something useful today but I was tired and had a rest when I returned home for a couple of hours.

When I entered the art group late the artist was already instructing the group to draw in a specific style , a useful session drawing with a continuous line. we all set to work with full concentration again? . Somebody sat next to me who I had never met before. As I was drawing I couldn’t just chat to her while I was drawing. Sometimes I just get so very frustrated and weary with tapping everything out on an iPad . I miss the discussions I used to have with people, my company must be so hard just using sounds, typing and mime.

I was tired, so I didn’t really bring our my iPad and I felt like an outsider to the group , I think the tutor suspected I couldn’t talk and his only communication to me was eye contact with me when he said “sometimes people learn to paint with their lips” , not me, my lips have gone!!!. Sometimes I feel like I am in a dark place and looking out on the world but I always remind myself that when I am in this dark place it is rare that I can enter the brightness from the elements outside of the door, things external to myself.It is within myself that needs to change, my internal world , my thoughts and feelings about the external world. So I need to look around my world and catch the joy, not to rely on the world bringing me joy …if that makes sense ? So in my darkened room I must find the joy there and then let myself out to appreciate the world .

3 thoughts on “Day 2 – Finding the light within

  1. Have a good day tomorrow, don’t overdo it, best it you put your efforts into bringing it to life on the blog, for those who can’t be there! xx

If you want to respond to this blog please leave a reply and I will try and get back to you